English 简体中文

We are entrepreneurs who happen to be venture capitalists

Our Mission

We search for visionary entrepreneurs, build partnership with them, and maximize their success with our capital, experience, network and global vision. In order to move fast and be responsive, we keep our organization lean and focus only on big ideas. Currently we are managing about $1.2 billion USD assets, and typically invest between 1 and 30 million USD (or RMB equivalent) per company.

Submit Business Plan

Investment Thesis

1

Networks, platforms or channels that enjoy network effect or economy of scale

Companies like Microsoft, Taobao, Kuaishou and Meicai.cn benefit from network effects and economy of scale. As they grow in scale, their user experience gets better and(or) cost gets lower.

2

Applications that produce data that can be used to enhance their user-experience and performance

Google is an example - a vast number of users input keywords and click on the links on the site every day, feeding Google the data to train its search engine and continually improve its user experience. By doing this, Google builds a barrier of entry that gets higher and higher over time.

3

Self-reinforcing brands

Brands like MIT and Stanford University attract talented students and researchers from all over the world, and these talents reinforce the university's brand.

We believe that such companies are best positioned to create long-term value in structural changes, and we strive to find and work with entrepreneurs with great vision and extraordinary leadership to drive the changes.

XVC Team

Boyu HuPartner

An entrepreneur and product geek, Boyu co-founded China’s largest lending software company, Amarsoft (SHE:300380), where he led the development of core product lines and helped the company achieve dominance in a highly competitive market before it eventually went public.

After being an entrepreneur and engineer for 10 years, he became a venture capitalist. Before XVC, he worked for DCM and Blue Lake Capital, where he singled out multiple "big ideas" at early-stage - Meicai, Youxinpai (NASDAQ:UXIN), Kuaishou, 51talk (NYSE: COE), and Wandoujia (acquired by Alibaba). These companies have raised an average of 400 million USD in follow-on rounds and valued at $4 billion on average.

Boyu is not only a geek but also an “indoorsman”. He got his MBA from Kellogg School on the shore of beautiful Lake Michigan, but he spent most spare time either doing research in his room or auditing classes he wasn't in. As a venture capitalist, he still spends lots of time indoors – reading books on mobile devices, shopping online, or reading for his little son and daughter. He might have grown mushrooms on his forehead were it not for an indoor sport he has been enjoying for almost twenty years – badminton.

Leo LuPartner

In Leo’s perspective, technology could make our world better. He will either do something to change the world himself, or he will enable some others to do so.

Before joining XVC, Leo did in-depth study of multiple industries while he was working at Bluelake Capital with Boyu, and invested and managed several great startups. Before that, he worked at Bain & Company Shanghai and Sydney Office. His work included due diligence for Top 10 private fund worldwide and marketing, operations and sales strategy consulting for Top 500 companies.

Since age 11, internet has played an important role in Leo’s life. He has received many website development awards whileilin high school. During his study in the software engineering department at Fudan University, he led scientific and technological development in Fudan Guanghua Company, making 1 million revenue out of several website development projects. Taking off the suit, Leo is an outdoor enthusiast, he climbed most of the snow mountains in Tibet and dived around world. During the time in Kellogg Business School, he finished his first marathon. For now, he has two more challenges, meet the Boston Marathon standard ( 3 hours 5 minutes in 2015), and finish 100 marathons before age 80.

Rickey YaoPartner

Rickey dreams to live in the future today. Nothing thrills him more than to bring into reality the wild imaginations that change the world for the better.

Before joining XVC, Rickey worked at GGV Capital and The Carlyle Group. In 2014, he transitioned into venture capital from private equity because he was inspired by innovative yet grounded entrepreneurs, and wanted to build long-lasting partnerships with them. At GGV, his emphasis was new population, new interaction and new consumption. He engaged in investment projects such as Zuiyou, Hellobike, Tangdou, Musical.ly, Zuoyebang, Chushou.tv, Kuaidian, Citybox and Philm.

During his college days at Fudan University, Rickey served as president of the Fudan Photography Association. He was also an early member of the Fudan Security Investment Association and founded the Fudan Consulting Club. These experiences taught Rickey much about execution: he believes that investment is not just about strategic judgement, but about providing hands-on support that will help portfolio companies grow and thrive.

In his free time, Rickey enjoys reading (though he always buys more books than he can read), practices modern archery (though he often damages the arrows on the target with new shots), and hangs out in shopping malls (under the pretense of understanding new consumer trend). But most commonly, you will find him scrolling through Bilibili and Zuiyou before he goes to sleep.

Neo YangOperating Partner

Neo is a “non-typical accountant”. He believes in rationality, logic and numbers, while he considers himself to be a Stoic and a pessimistic optimist.

Neo was an accounting graduate from Renmin University of China. After graduation he worked in Ernst & Young as an auditor. This very experience with product managers and IT engineers made him to choose to work with dedicated, interesting people to deal with challenges. He also worked in Geek Founders, an angel fund, for 2 years, in charge of fund operation.

While he is responsible for risk control, his passion lies in motorbike which is deemed extreme dangerous in China. He always pleads for motorcycle riders. He asserts he only takes calculated risk and measures have been take to hedge the risk. But most of the time, he is a typical “indoorsman”. He loves Bilibili where he used to preach that “Attack on Titan” is the best ever or watch “Rick and Morty” one more time.

Testimonials

  • “XVC is our initial-round investor. At a time when most people were having doubts about programming for kids and AI-based teaching, XVC made a strong commitment to us. Since the investment, XVC has given us a lot of help in terms of industry analysis and business insight and has provided us with solid support.”  Pengxuan Zeng
  • “XVC has a profound understanding of the industry landscape and the nature of business. The team is proactive, pragmatic, and meticulous. In addition, XVC has a mature and systematic understanding of business operations and management, which has been of great help to me. I would recommend XVC to all entrepreneurs who are determined to create something extraordinary.”  Larry
  • “The XVC team has helped Shi Yi grow with its sharp industry insight, rich management experience, and unique strategic vision. Even when we were faced with some unexpected difficulties, the XVC team managed to pull some strings and helped us solve the problem. I think we were quite lucky to meet an investor like XVC who is “always helping and never causing any trouble.” We look forward to creating more value with XVC in the future.”  Hao Pan
  • “Among all the investment teams I have met, XVC is the fastest in iterating its underlying business logic. Every two months, I would exchange ideas with the team about the most advanced business models out there. This allowed me to iterate my knowledge and cognition without losing focus on the current business. I’m grateful to XVC for always thinking and making decisions from the perspective of entrepreneurs. When moody was faced with cash flow problems, XVC made it possible for us to receive a loan the very next day. This gave us essential leeway, and I will never forget this. ”  Ran Ci
  • “On the one hand, XVC is a very young and vigorous team, and on the other hand, the XVC team is rigorous and attentive to details. They are fully informed and confident about the fields that they already know about, and they have a strong curiosity to explore fields that are new to them. It is these characteristics that allow XVC to give entrepreneurs the kind of support they really need. Throughout our cooperation, I have treated the XVC team as our partners. I believe that XVC will work with its portfolio companies to become an agent of change in the industry and the driving force of social progress while delivering high returns to all its partners.”  Yingqi Wang
  • ”Every time I talk with the XVC team, it is a pleasant and brain-mangling experience! Apart from exchanging novel ideas with us, the XVC team has never failed to dig deeper and find the hard facts and inner laws behind the surface. This kind of input is extremely valuable in an age when entrepreneurship is defined by a cognitive revolution. Being able to improve your cognitive level—that’s more valuable than any other help, although XVC has never let us down whenever we were in need.“  Chuanzong Zhang
  • ”Entrepreneurs need partners who are rational and pragmatic, who are able to spark inspiration, and who dare to challenge. XVC has all of these qualities. As an early investor, XVC has been our faithful partner as we discussed strategies, discussed organization development, convinced key team members to get on board, and faced the ups and downs of the capital market together. They have the same passion, tenacity, and perseverance as we have. Behind XVC’s wise choices is their wonderful ability to “fly close to the ground.” Thank you, XVC, for accompanying us along this journey!“  Zhe Ren
  • ”XVC is an extremely professional investment team with the logic and perspective of entrepreneurs as well as the acumen and sharpness of investors, making them the perfect sounding board. The overall style of XVC is quite distinctive: agile, pragmatic, and able to stand in the shoes of the other party. They see themselves as partners of the entrepreneurs, not just investors.“  Bin Wang
  • ”XVC is a VC team with a strong entrepreneurial spirit. The first time we met, XVC convinced me that they were the kind of “partner/shareholder” I was looking for. So far, the XVC team has indeed been like a partner. XVC was the first to offer us help in our most difficult times, and XVC has also given us timely and practical advice and support on strategy, tactics, talent, and marketing when we were developing at high speed.“  Junjie Zhang
  • ”The XVC team has given Guangliang a unique perspective. It’s fair to say that XVC is a very distinctive kind of investor. Instead of “investors” or “shareholders,” I think of them as “partners” since they have always helped me and Guangliang analyze pros and cons and make calm and objective predictions. Fortunately, our predictions have been correct most of the time.“  Xiaopu Zhao
  • ”I’m very glad to have worked with XVC. Our partners at XVC are determined and insightful. They are strategic thinkers who empathize with entrepreneurs, making them the ideal partners in any entrepreneurship journey.“  Ming Yan

Views

Contact

Address: 2nd Floor, Building 77, 4th Yard Gongti North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing
Postcode: 100600

Email

vip[a]xvc.com
(Please replace [a] with @)

Wechat

https://www.xvc.com/en/wp-content/uploads/2016/12/wechat.png

English 简体中文

我们是恰好选择了VC行业的创业者

XVC的使命

XVC是一家风险投资机构,目前管理了约 6 亿美元(含人民币),单笔投资100万到3000万美元或等值人民币。我们希望以精简的机构、高效的决策流程来支持有领袖才能的创业者,共享我们的视野和行业资源,共同创造长期价值。

投递商业计划书

投资主题

1

具备网络效应和规模经济的新型网络和平台

像微信、淘宝、快手、美菜网这样的“通道”,拥有网络效应或规模经济,规模越大体验越好,或者规模越大成本越低。

2

能够生产数据并利用这些数据提高核心体验和性能的应用

以 Google 为例,它的搜索体验依赖于海量用户每天通过输入关键字、点击来给它提供反馈进行训练,从而能够把壁垒越建越高。

3

具有“自增强”属性的品牌

像MIT、斯坦福大学这样的品牌,能够吸引最优秀的申请者和研究者,这些优秀的人才会增强大学的品牌。

我们认为具有上述特征的商业模式在未来的结构性变化中能够创造长期的价值, 我们希望能找到那些具有远见和优秀领导才能的企业家,一同去驱动这些新变化的发生。

我们的团队

胡博予 Boyu合伙人

博予是个理想主义的创业者兼产品极客。他参与创办了中国最大的信贷管理软件公司安硕信息,领导了核心产品线的开发,帮助公司在竞争激烈的市场中取得接近垄断的地位并最终上市(深交所,股票代码300380)。

在创业十年后,博予成为了一名风险投资家。在创办XVC之前,他曾在DCM和蓝湖资本工作,期间他在早期发掘了一些明星企业,包括 51talk(纽交所上市:COE)、美菜网、快手(香港联交所上市:1024.HK)、优信拍(纳斯达克上市:UXIN)、豌豆荚(被阿里巴巴收购)等,这些公司平均估值超过100亿美元。

博予不但是一个极客,还是一个“宅男”。他在Kellogg商学院读 MBA 的时候,住在美丽的密歇根湖湖畔,但他大部分业余时间要么宅在宿舍里搞研究要么混进自己没有学分的课堂里旁听。作为一名风险投资家,他仍花大量时间宅在家里 –在移动设备上阅读,在网上购物,或是给他的两个孩子读书。如果不是因为羽毛球这项他热爱了 20 年的运动,他的额头上可能都已经长出蘑菇了。

陆宜 Leo合伙人

陆宜认为科技的介入可以让我们的世界变得更好——如果他不在做改变世界的事情,那么他就要寻找并帮助另外一群人去改变世界。

在加入XVC之前,陆宜曾在蓝湖资本工作并与博予一起深入研究了多个行业,投资并管理了数个优秀创业企业。在那之前,他在全球著名的贝恩咨询公司(Bain&Company)的上海办公室和悉尼办公室工作,包括全球TOP10私募基金的商业尽职调查,五百强企业的市场、运营和销售策略制定。

从11岁开始,互联网就成为了陆宜生命里最重要的角色。他在高中阶段拿了所有这个年龄段网页制作的奖项后,进入了复旦大学软件工程系,并带领复旦光华公司科技开发部为校内外客户提供网站制作服务并创造了几十万的收入。脱下西装,陆宜是一个标准的户外运动爱好者,他攀登了多座位于西藏的雪山,潜水踪迹遍布全球。在Kellogg商学院就读期间,他完成了人生第一个全程马拉松;接下来,迎接他的将是两个很大的挑战:达标波士顿马拉松(2015年的标准是3小时05分钟),并在八十岁以前跑完100个全马。

姚睿 Rickey合伙人

姚睿是一个希望能够活在未来的人。他对于世界总有一些看似不切实际的畅想,并期望把时间加速去达到他们。

在加入XVC之前,他曾在GGV纪源资本和The Carlyle Group凯雷投资集团工作。在2014年姚睿选择从PE去VC,因为希望跟最有创新能量,最接地气的那一批创业者一起成长,并成为长期的兄弟和伙伴。在GGV他关注新人群,新交互和新消费,推动或参与了多个投资,包括最右,Hellobike,糖豆广场舞,Musical.ly,作业帮,触手TV,快点阅读,魔盒Citybox,Philm黑咔等。

他毕业于复旦大学,在校时,他是摄影协会会长,证券投资协会早期成员,并联合创立复旦管理咨询协会,这些“瞎折腾”的经历,给予了他非常强的落地能力:投资不仅是判断,而是从招人到数据分析,帮助被投企业去成长,做到“帮忙不添乱”。

业余时间,姚睿喜欢看书,但买书的速度总是比看书快。喜欢射箭,经常下一支箭打在上一支上。喜欢逛商场,借口总是理解新的消费趋势。但最常做的,大概是睡觉前把B站和最右刷一遍。

杨潇 Neo运营合伙人

杨潇是一个“非典型财务”。他信奉理性、逻辑和数字的同时,又是推崇斯多葛主义的悲观的乐观主义者。

毕业于人大会计专业后,杨潇曾在安永会计师事务所审计互联网企业。正是这段与产品经理和IT工程师工作的经历让他笃定选择与专注、有趣的人一起解决复杂的难题。他还在极客帮创投工作2年时间,负责基金的运营。

负责基金风险控制的他,竟然最热爱看起来很危险的摩托车,他经常为骑士辩护,也精确计算和对冲自己承担的风险。但大多数时间,他是典型的宅男,喜欢B站,最经常做的事情是吹爆巨人或者把 “Rick and Morty”再刷一遍。

企业家赠语

  • “XVC是我的首轮投资方。当很多人对少儿编程赛道和我们AI课程教学的模式存在顾虑时,XVC坚定的选择了支持我们。在之后的合作中XVC也在行业研判和商业视野上给了我们非常多的支持,是我们坚实的支撑。” 核桃编程 曾鹏轩
  • “XVC对行业格局的理解和对商业本质的认知是极其深厚的。团队积极务实,细致认真。另外,他们对企业的运作与管理有非常成熟与系统的认识,给我提供了非常多的帮助。我会向所有有志于做一番事业的创业者推荐XVC。” Weee! Larry
  • “XVC团队以犀利的行业洞察、丰富的管理经验和独到的战略眼光,为时宜成长提供了帮助。在我们遇到意想不到的困难时,XVC团队也通过关系网帮我们解决过问题。遇上XVC这样‘总帮忙,不添乱’的基金,是时宜的幸运。期待未来一起创造更多价值。” 时宜 潘浩
  • “XVC投资团队是我接触过底层商业逻辑迭代最快的团队之一,每2个月我都会和团队交流市场上先进的商业模式,从而保持自己在专注业务的同时迭代认知。同时,很感谢XVC一直站在创业者的角度思考和做投资决策。当初moody遇到现金流问题的时候,XVC毫不犹豫在第二天完成了向我们公司的借款,让我们有了喘息的机会,会一直铭记。” moody 慈然
  • “XVC一方面非常年轻活力,另一方面非常严谨细心。既对已知领域有足够专业的自信,也对未知领域有强烈的探索好奇心。这些特点使得XVC能给到创业者真正所需要的支持。在整个合作过程中,我当XVC的伙伴是公司合伙人。相信XVC会和被投企业一起,成为行业的变革者,社会进步的推动者,也定会给所有合作者带来超预期的回报。” ONES 王颖奇
  • “每次跟XVC的伙伴交流,都是个愉快而烧脑的过程!在新颖观点碰撞的同时,XVC团队能够不断的理性深挖,找到事实依据支撑和内在规律。在认知革命的创业时代,这无比的宝贵!而认知的梳理和提升,胜却多少其他类型的帮助,虽然在需要其他方面帮助时,XVC的兄弟们也从未缺席!” 肆拾玖坊 张传宗
  • “创业者需要好伙伴,理性,实际,能碰撞,敢挑战。很幸运,这些XVC都有。作为早期投资人,XVC和我们一起并肩战斗,讨论战略,说服关键团队成员加入,一起面对跌宕起伏的资本市场。从一个VC的身上我们看到了和我们一样的热情,坚韧不拔。睿智的选择后面,是扎扎实实贴地飞行的能力,谢谢XVC一路同行!” 伊对 任喆
  • “XVC是极为专业的投资团队,他们拥有创业者的逻辑和视角,同时又具备投资人的敏锐和犀利,是很好对话者。XVC整体的风格十分鲜明:敏捷、务实且能够换位思考,把自己当成创业者的伙伴,而不仅仅是投资方。” 利和味道 王斌
  • “XVC是一个具有企业家精神的VC创业团队,初次见面就让我确信,他们就是我想找的合伙人型的股东。合作至今,XVC团队果然像合伙人一样,在我们最困难的时候,第一时间站出来给予最实际的帮助,在我们高速发展的时期,在战略、战术、人才、市场等方面提供了及时、实用的建议和落地支持。” 霸王茶姬 张俊杰
  • “XVC团队给予了光良非常独特的思考角度,是投资人里非常独特的存在。相比于‘投资人’或者‘股东’,我更愿意称他们是‘伙伴’,总是可以冷静的客观的帮助我和光良分析利弊及对未来做出预判,很庆幸,大部分时候,我们的预判都是对的。” 光良酒业 赵晓朴
  • “非常庆幸能和XVC合作。XVC的伙伴们坚定、敏锐、有战略思维,又始终对创业者抱以同情的理解,是创业陌路上非常好的前行伙伴。” LOOKNOW 严明

XVC观点和思考

联系我们

地址:北京朝阳区三环以内工体北路4号院77号楼2层
邮编:100600

https://xvc-com.oss-accelerate.aliyuncs.com/2016/12/微信截图_20200615113026.png

邮件

vip[a]xvc.com
(请把[a]替换为@)

微信公众号

xvcfund

https://xvc-com.oss-accelerate.aliyuncs.com/2016/12/wechat.png